Golden Gloves champs crowned

Posted on 29 March 2010   Results

Ringside by Jerry Martinez

Results of the finals on Sunday at the 62nd annual New Mexico State Golden Gloves Tourney in Clovis:

At 123, open, Leonardo Sanchez from Atrisco decisioned Ronny Perez from the Martinez Boxing Club for the state crown. At 132, open, Yoel Gonzales from Artisco dcisioned Hector Carrette of Las Cruces PAL. In the 141-pound open class, Edgar Zubia of School of Hard Knocks wasted little time, disposing of Javoris Jordon in 31 seconds of the first round. At 152, open, David Pena, of L.C. PAL, stopped Evan Luna from Clovis at 1 minute and 43 seconds of the first round. At 165, open, Timothy Meek, L.C. PAL decisioned Josh Moore, independent. In the heavyweight division, Ricardo Urquizo, Clovis, scored a 3rd round TKO over Andero Tapia, Clovis; And, in the final bout of the evening, at super heavyweight, Timothy Green of JLM, scored a hard fought decision over Wesley Buster Albuquerque PAL.

Unopposed champions included Luis Montceno, Los Tigres, at 108; Telford Harrison, Shiprock, at 114; and Gerardo Quintana of Hard Knocks, at 178.

In show bouts: At 110 lbs., Adrian Marquez of Alderete, decisioned Cristo Cabrera of Bad Boys; At 115, Gabriel Gabaldon of DMB decisioned Javier Cepeda from Roswell.

L.C. PAL and Atrisco Boxing tied for the first place team trophy. Winner of the Stan Gallup Outstanding Boxer Award for the Golden Gloves State Tourney was 165-pound champ Timothy Meek.